Glady Knight & The Pips - 2nd...

Glady Knight & The Pips - 2nd Anniversary - Mini-LP Papersleeve CD Replica

  • CD

  • 1

Tax included


Mini-LP Papersleeve CD Replica

A milestone for long-running hitmakers Gladys Knight & the Pips, 2nd Anniversary was their fourth studio album recorded for the Buddah Records label. It was released in October of 1975 and spawned two Billboard R&B Top Ten singles with “Money” and “Part Time Love.” It was also their fourth consecutive Gold album, after their previous releases on the Buddah label: Imagination (1973), Claudine (1974) and I Feel a Song (1974). Knight and the Pips’ largest success came after they signed with Motown in 1966. Their top-40 hit “Everybody Needs Love,” was followed by the breakthrough success of “I Heard It Through the Grapevine,” which became a number two pop hit on the Billboard Hot 100 and a number-one R&B hit for six weeks. The record sold 2.5 million copies, and at the time was Motown’s best-selling single ever. In late 1968, “Grapevine” would become an even bigger hit for Marvin Gaye, whose version, recorded before Knight’s but released a year afterward, was a number-one pop hit for seven weeks. Knight and the Pips departed Motown for Buddah Records in 1973. Knight later complained that she and the Pips were regarded as a second-string act, and that Diana [Ross] & the Supremes, The Temptations, and Marvin Gaye were given the best songs, while “we took the leftovers.” In Knight’s autobiography she alleged that Diana Ross had the group removed from being The Supremes’ opening act on a 1966 tour for being too good.


1. MONEY (3:53) (Eugene McDaniels)
2. STREET BROTHER (4:48) (Eugene McDaniels)
3. PART TIME LOVE (2:33) (David Gates)
4. AT EVERY END THERE’S A BEGINNING (3:39) (Richard Supa)
5. GEORGIA ON MY MIND (4:40) (Hoagy Carmichael - Stuart Gorrell)
6. YOU AND ME AGAINST THE WORLD (6:15) (Paul Williams – Kenny Ascher)
7. WHERE DO I PUT HIS MEMORY (4:55) (Jim Weatherly)
8. SUMMER SUN (5:03) (Eugene McDaniels)
9. FEEL LIKE MAKIN’ LOVE (6:16) (Eugene McDaniels)


Produced by Eugene McDaniels, Kenny Kerner, Richie Wise and Co-Produced By Gladys Knight, Bubba Knight, William Guest & Edward Patten. Arranged By: Gary King, Tom Scott, Sid Feller, Don Hannah, Kenny Kerner & Richie Wise. Keyboards: Kenny Ascher Percussion: Ralph MacDonald Guitars: Hugh McCracken, Richie Rensicov Drums: “Bad” Steve Gadd Synthesizer Special Effect: George Duke Strings & Horns Conducted By: Larry Wilcox Engineer: Warren Dewey Orchestrated & Conducted By: Dominic Frontiere Concept by: Joe Guercio.

Product added to wishlist