Intruders - Energy of Love - Mini-LP...

Intruders - Energy of Love - Mini-LP Papersleeve CD Replica

  • CD

  • 1

Tax included


Mini-LP Papersleeve CD Replica

As the first group to score hits with the songwriting/production team of Kenny Gamble and Leon Huff, The Intruders played a major role in the rise of Philadelphia soul. Originally formed as a doo-wop group in 1960, they signed with Gambl and Huff’s fledgling Gamble label in 1966 and scored a Top 20 R&B hit that year with “(We’ll Be) United”. 1968 was their breakthrough year: “Cowboys to Girls,” a template for what would become Philly soul’s trademark sound, topped the R&B charts and climbed to number six on the pop side, giving the group their biggest hit. Gamble and Huff’s success with The Intruders helped convince Columbia to grant them the money to launch Philadelphia International, which became the most successful soul label of the early ‘70s. In 1974 The Intruders switched from the Gamble imprint to the Philly International subsidiary TSOP, and released Energy of Love, which is their last known recording and their final collaboration with Gamble & Huff. Although it did not reach the success of its predecessors, Energy of Love is full of great songs with the Gamble and Huff team contributing to several cuts (“Energy Of Love”, “A Nice Girl Like You”, “Lonely Lonely” and “Be On Time”). The Philly natives also sparkle on four remakes: Marvin Gaye’s “Jan,” William DeVaughn’s “Be Thankful for What You Got,” Mary Wells’ “What’s Easy for Two Is So Hard for One,” and Paul Simon’s “Rainy Days and Mondays”, sounding especially frisky on DeVaughn’s hit. The album was recorded at Sigma Sound Studios in Philadelphia, and the four members of The Intruders were backed by M.F.S.B., whose lineup included the Baker, Harris, Young rhythm section, guitarists Bobby “Electronic” Eli, percussionist Larry Washington, vibes virtuoso Vince Montana Jr., and violinist Don Renaldo. The arrangers were Bruce Hawkes and Bobby Martin, while producers included Vince Montana Jr, John Davis and the above mentioned Gamble and Huff team. Essential Philly Soul Sound!


1. ENERGY OF LOVE (3:33) (Kenneth Gamble & Leon Huff)
2. RAINY DAYS AND MONDAYS (6:28) (Paul Williams, Roger Nichols)
3. A NICE GIRL LIKE YOU (3:30) (Kenneth Gamble & Leon Huff)
4. JAN (4:35) (Marvin Gaye)
5. BE THANKFUL FOR WHAT YOU GOT (3:13) (William De Vaughn)
6. WHAT’S EASY FOR TWO IS SO HARD FOR ONE (3:19) (William “Smokey” Robinson)
7. LONELY LONELY (3:19) (Kenneth Gamble & Leon Huff)
8. EVERYONE’S A STAR (5:42) (John Davis)
9. PLAIN OL’ FASHIONED GIRL (2:50) (Cary Gilbert, Theodore Life)
10. BE ON TIME (4:54) (Kenneth Gamble & Leon Huff)


All songs composed by Norman Whitfield & Barrett Strong.

Recorded between November 1969 and February 1970 at Hitsville U.S.A., Detroit, Michigan.


16 other products in the same category:

Product added to wishlist