Solomon Burke – Back to My Roots (Limited 180 Gram LP) [RSD 2020]

Solomon Burke – Back to My Roots (Limited 180 Gram LP) [RSD 2020]

Elemental Music together with Universal Music USA have released the first ever LP reissue of this overlooked 1976 masterpiece by Soul legend Solomon Burke.

After a long stint on Atlantic and MGM Records, legendary King of Soul and R&B Solomon Burke signed with the Chess Records label, a well-known imprint devoted to the best Blues, R&B, Funk and Soul music. Back to My Roots was his second album for the legendary Chicago label, and like its predecessor (Music to Make Love By, 1975, reissued also by Elemental Music), it was masterfully produced by Herman Rush.


1. Burning For Your Love (Solomon Burke) 3:55
2. Night And Day (Cole Porter) 3:44
3. Everybody’s Got To Cry Sometime (Sammy Lowe/Chuck Jackson/Solomon Burke) 4:46
4. I’m Going Back To My Roots (Solomon Burke) 5:11


1. Precious Flower (Solomon Burke) 4:34
2. The Do Right Song (Solomon Burke) 4:02
3. Life Has It’s Ups And Downs (Solomon Burke) 2:56
4. Over And Over (Hugging And Loving) [Walter Morris/Al Goodman/Harry Ray] 4:33
5. I’ll Never Stop Loving You (Solomon Burke) 3:35

Produced by: Solomon Burke
Executive Producer: Herman Rush
A Mike Curb/Herman Rush Production In Association with Sound of Memphis, Inc.

Recorded at All Platinum Studios, Englewood, New Jersey
Engineered by Allan Tucker and Richie Corsello
Mixed by Sylvia Robinson, Allan Tucker and AI Goodman
Arranged by Solomon Burke with assistance from Sammy Lowe, Walter Morris and Bernadette Randle.
Orchestrated and conducted by Sammy Lowe.

Ernie Royal, Johnny Grimes; Trumpets
Dickie Harris, Dick Griffin; Trombones
Seldon Powell, Buddy Lucas; Saxophones
Buddy Lucas; Harmonica
Bernadette Randle; Keyboards
Walter Morris, Billy Jones; Guitars
Jonathan Williams; Fender Bass
Clarence Oliver; Percussion
The Irving Spice Strings

Background Vocals:
Christine Wiltshire
Jocelyn Shaw
Diane Cookley
Singer William