Philamore Lincoln – The North Wind Blew South

Philamore Lincoln – The North Wind Blew South

Philamore Lincoln has always been something of a shadowy figure in the psych pop universe, even among hardcore collectors. Elemental Music proudly present a newly remastered edition of his lone album, The North Wind Blew South, originally released by the Epic label in 1970.

This masterpiece is a late 60’s lost classic of the U.K. soft-psych scene, the nearest touchstone being Donovan, but there are also touches of bubblegum pop and R&B.  Robert Cromwell Anson, also known by his other stage names as Phil Kinorra, Julian Covey, Julien Covey and Philamore Lincoln, is a British drummer and singer who performed with Brian Auger & the Trinity, Graham Bond and Don Rendell, as well as with his own band, Julian Covey & The Machine for which he sang and played drums and put out a Northern Soul hit, “A Little Bit Hurt”, in 1967 (Island Records).

With his band The Machine he also backed John Lee Hooker on a UK tour and he was the replacement drummer for The Who’s Keith Moon in 1967. As a jazz drummer he played in the early 60’s with such jazzmen as Ronnie Scott, Peter King, Johnny Griffin, Leo Wright, Herb Geller, Freddy Redd and Jackie McLean, among others.

Having decided to go solo and change his musical direction, in 1968 he adopted the pseudonym Philamore Lincoln and was signed in the UK to Brian Epstein’s NEMS label, where he issued one single, “Running by the River” b/w “Rainy Day”, before NEMS folded onto the CBS label. Two years later American producer Chesley Millican signed him to the US label Epic Records.

His only solo album, The North Wind Blew South was released in 1970 in the US, Canada and Japan only, and includes his song “Temma Harbour”, which was a hit when re-recorded as a single
by Mary Hopkin that same year. All of the album’s songs were penned by Philamore himself, backed by a host of who’s-who of the London music scene of that time, including Jack Bruce (Cream), Jim Capaldi (Traffic), Keith Webb (Donovan), John McLaughlin, Pete Wingfield (The Hollies),Herbie Flowers (David Bowie, Lou Reed), Graham Bond (Ginger Baker’s Air Force), and the one and only Led Zeppelin front man, Jimmy Page.