Edgar Broughton Band - Edgar...

Edgar Broughton Band - Edgar Broughton Band - Mini-LP Papersleeve CD Replica

Sold out
  • CD

  • 1

Tax included


Mini-LP Papersleeve CD Replica

Formed in Warwick, England, the Edgar Broughton Band arrived on the London underground music scene in 1968. Led by the Broughton brothers, vocalist/guitarist Edgar and drummer Steve, and fleshed out by bassist Arthur Grant and guitarist Victor Unitt (who also briefly served with the Pretty Things), they soon signed with the Harvest label where they released five albums. In 1971 they produced their magnum opus, the self titled Edgar Broughton Band, also known as 'the meat album' for it's obvious artwork connotations, which is one of the highlights of the renowned creative studio Hipgnosis. Despite it's misleading title, this is in fact the Edgar Broughton Band's third album, a truly collection of prog-rock masterpieces ranging from blues rock, to country, to folk in style all overlaid by Broughton’s rasping, powerful vocal and with a pervading, tongue in cheek wit running through the politically charged lyrics. The obvious comparison is with Jim Morrison’s schizophrenic poet/rock-god persona. And that’s just for starters. Every track on this album is a classic. All of it is innovative, none is hard going. It is a well-rounded, compelling and ultimately listenable piece of rock/art. A perfect place to start if you’re just getting into Edgar Broughton Band, one of the most influential and original, yet lesser-known, bands of the 60s/70s period. This digitally re-mastered and expanded reissue is presented as a mini-LP gatefold replica (including original liner notes and pictures) with paper spine (obi) plus inner sleeve containing complete lyrics.


1. Evening Over Rooftops
2. The Birth
3. Piece of My Own
4. Poppy
5. Don't Even Know Which Day It Is
6. House of Turnabout
7. Madhatter
8. Getting Hard/What Is a Woman For?
9. Thinking of You
10. For Dr. Spock (Part One)/For Dr. Spock (Part Two)
11. Hotel Room (A-side of Harvest Single HAR 5040) *
12. Call Me Liar (B-side of Harvest Single HAR 5040) *

* Bonus Tracks Recorded between July 1970 and February 1971.


Produced by Peter Jenner.

ERLP 2002
Product added to wishlist