Kevin Ayers, John Cale, Brian Eno &...

Kevin Ayers, John Cale, Brian Eno & Nico - June, 1974 - Mini-LP Papersleeve CD Replica

Sold out
  • CD

  • 1

Tax included


Mini-LP Papersleeve CD Replica

Elemental Music, together with Universal Music Spain proudly presents a new CD reissue of this classic 1974 live album hosted by former Soft Machine guitarist Kevin Ayers with guest stars Brian Eno, John Cale and Nico. June 1, 1974 was originally released by Island Records the same year in which it was recorded. The idea for the concert came from Richard Williams (Island’s A&R), who suggested that the reunion of all of these Island artists would help generate interest in the label (which had up to then been primarily associated with reggae). Brian Eno performs two songs from his debut solo album Here Come the Warm Jets (1973), while former Velvet Underground chanteuse Nico delivers a stunning version of The Doors “The End”. Fellow former Velvet John Cale curdles the blood with his alarming take on Elvis Presley’s “Heartbreak Hotel”. Ayers’ selections take up the remainder of the album and they’re also spectacular. The personnel is completed with Ayer’s extraordinary touring band The Soporifics – featuring guitarist Ollie Halsall (Patto, Timebox)–, exceptionally reinforced by none other than Robert Wyatt (Soft Machine) and the famous British guitarist Mike Oldfield.


1. Driving Me Backwards (Brian Eno) 6.04
2. Baby’s On Fire (Brian Eno) 3.52
3. Heartbreak Hotel (Mae Boren Axton-Thomas Durden) 5.15
4. The End (The Doors) 9.07
5. May I? (Kevin Ayers) 5.47
6. Shouting In A Bucket Blues (Kevin Ayers) 4.58
7. Stranger In Blue Suede Shoes (Kevin Ayers) 3.19
8. Everybody’s Sometime And Some People’s All The Time Blues (Kevin Ayers) 4.35
9. Two Goes Into Four (Kevin Ayers) 2.48


Track 1: Brian Eno (vocals, synthesizer), John Cale (viola), Ollie Halsall (piano), Rabbit (organ), Archie Leggatt, Kevin Ayers (bass guitars), Eddie Sparrow (bass drum), Robert Wyatt (percussion) Track 2: Brian Eno (vocals, synthesizer), John Cale (piano), Rabbit (organ), Ollie Halsall (guitar), Archie Leggatt, Kevin Ayers (bass guitars), Eddie Sparrow (drum kit), Robert Wyatt (percussion). Track 3: John Cale (vocals), Brian Eno (synthesizer), Rabbit (organ), Ollie Halsall (guitar), Archie Leggatt (bass guitar), Eddie Sparrow (drum kit), Robert Wyatt (percussion), Liza Strike, Irene Chanter, Doreen Chanter (backing vocals). Track 4: Nico (vocals, harmonium), Brian Eno (synthesizer). Track 7: Kevin Ayers (vocals, guitar), Rabbit (organ, grand piano, electric piano), Ollie Halsall (lead guitar), Archie Leggatt (bass guitar), Eddie Sparrow (drum kit), Robert Wyatt (percussion) Track 8: Kevin Ayers (vocals, guitar), Mike Oldfield (solo guitar), Ollie Halsall (guitar), Rabbit (organ). Track 9 : Kevin Ayers (vocals, acoustic guitar), Ollie Halsall, Mike Oldfield (acoustic guitars), Rabbit (organ), Brian Eno (synthesizer), John Cale (viola), Archie Leggatt (bass guitar), Eddie Sparrow (tympani), Robert Wyatt (percussion) Concert presentation by Ian Tilbury.


Recorded on June 1, 1974 at the Rainbow Theatre, London, on the Island mobile, and mixed at Sound Techniques. Engineered by John Wood. Recording assistants: Phil Ault and Ray Doyle. Produced by Richard Williams.


16 other products in the same category:

Product added to wishlist