The Flamin' Groovies - Teenage Head -...
The Flamin' Groovies - Teenage Head -...
The Flamin' Groovies - Teenage Head - Limited Edition 180 Gram LP
The Flamin' Groovies - Teenage Head - Limited Edition 180 Gram LP

The Flamin' Groovies - Teenage Head - Limited Edition 180 Gram LP

Sold out
  • LP

  • 1

Tax included


Limited Edition 180 Gram LP

Elemental Music, together with Sony Music entertainment, proudly presents a 180 gram LP reissue of the most acclaimed album by the American rock band Flamin’ Groovies: Teenage Head. This newly remastered masterpiece (long unavailable on vinyl format) is the third studio album by the San Francisco band and was released in March 1971 by Kama Sutra Records (a Budda Records subsidiary). Teenage Head is their last album with singer Roy Loney who left the band over differences in opinion with co-founder Cyril Jordan about the band’s future musical direction. Teenage Head is an angst-ridden, highly influential cult classic, with unforgettable tunes like the title track and “High Flyin’ Baby”. Released the same year as The Rolling Stones’ classic album Sticky Fingers, Mick Jagger reportedly noticed the similarities between the albums and thought the Flamin’ Groovies did the better take on the theme of classic blues and rock ‘n roll revisited in a modern context. As Julian Cope said in his Head Heritage webzine The Flamin’ Groovies were “probably the best American band that should’ve, but didn’t hit the big time. The Groovies made some fine records, but Teenage Head remains their crowning achievement. This recording is as fresh today as it was when it was released in 1971. The song writing duo of Cyril Jordan and Roy Loney were probably the best in the business at the time, and the only real challengers in the field were Keith Richards and Mick Jagger. In fact comparisons of Teenage Head to the Stones Sticky Fingers LP were often pointed out. After hearing Teenage Head Jagger stated that the Groovies did a better job than the Stones did on Sticky Fingers… This is America’s premier lost classic Rock and Roll album. Hands down!!!


Side 1:

1. HIGH FLYIN’ BABY (3:32)
2. CITY LIGHTS (4:28)
3. HAVE YOU SEEN MY BABY? (2:49) (Randy Newman)

Side 2

1. TEENAGE HEAD (2:53)
2. 32-20 (2:04) (Robert Johnson; arr. by Loney-Jordan)
3. EVIL HEARTED ADA (3:21) (Roy A. Loney)


All selections written by Loney-Jordan unless otherwise indicated Cyril Jordan, guitar, vocals Roy Loney , guitar, vocals Tim Lynch, guitar George Alexander, bass guitar Danny Mihm, drums Jim Dickinson, piano Recorded at Bell Sound Studios, New York City, January 1971.

Produced by Richard Robinson.


16 other products in the same category:

Product added to wishlist