Etta James – Etta Is Betta Than Evvah! (RSDBF)

Etta James – Etta Is Betta Than Evvah! (RSDBF)

Out November 25, 2022 for RSD Black Friday 2022


This outstanding Chess album was released in 1976, when Etta James wasn’t ruling the charts but wasn’t adverse to the idea of climbing back into the Top 40. Etta Is Betta Than Evvah! bears a boastful title and its ten funky cuts do not lack for bravado. With this album Etta James ended her richly prolific & wildly successful Chess Records tenure. It is a classic mix of new deeply soulful gems like the funky opener “Woman (Shake Your Booty)”.

Elemental Music, together with Universal Music Group, present the best selection of 60’s & 70’s R&B, Soul, Funk, Disco, Jazz, Blues, Pop-Rock and Folk out of print titles from the vaults of classic labels such as Polydor, Motown, Chess, MGM, A&M, Mercury or Capitol Records, among others.


Side One
1. Woman (Shake Your Booty)t E. James/B. Ray/D. Hawkins
2. A Love Vibration A. Peebles/D. Bryant/B. Miller *
3. Only A Fool E. James/T. Lawrence/G. Mekler
4. Little Bit Of Love Freddie Beckmeier
5. Groove Me K. Floyd

Side Two
1. Jump Into Love D. Belfield/R. Stockert
2. Leave Your Hat On Randy Newman*
3. I’ve Been A Fool Freddie Beckmeier
4. Blinded By Love Allen Toussaint *
5. Ain’t No Pity In The Naked City B. Scott/P. Medley


Produced & Arranged by Mike Terry (Except as noted.)
Recorded and mastered at All Platinum Recording Studios, Englewood, New Jersey. (Except as noted.)
Engineered & Mastered by Allan Tucker and Richard Corsello
Personnel (except as noted): Bernadette Randle (Keyboards); Brian Cuomo (piano); Walter Morris, Tommy Keith and Brian Ray (Guitars); Jonathan Williams (Bass); Clarence Oliver (Drums) *Personnel: Kenneth Rice (Drums), Chuck Rainey (Bass), William D. Smith (Keyboards), Ken Marco (Guitar), King Errison (Congas, Boobams).
Produced by Etta James and recorded at Village Recorders, Hollywood, California.
Personnel: Brian Ray (Guitars), Gene Dinwiddie (Saxophone), Keith Johnson (Trumpet), Ron Stockert (Clavinet), Freddie Beckmeier (Bass), Ronnie Rancifer (Organ), Paul Mabrie (Drums).
Photography: Michael Zagaris
Design & Art Direction: Dudley Thomas
Produced for release by Jordi Soley
Originally released in 1976 on Chess Records
Manufactured by Anagram Music. Made in the U.S.A.
Licensed for USA and Canada.