Edwin Starr – “War & Peace” – Limited 140g Orange Vinyl – RSD Essentials

Edwin Starr – “War & Peace” – Limited 140g Orange Vinyl – RSD Essentials

This release is part of RSD Essentials 2022. Out on April 1rst, 2022.


One of the most popular protest albums ever recorded, it inspired cover versions of its songs by such artists as Frankie Goes to Hollywood, Bruce Springsteen, and The Jam, and was sampled by the Beastie Boys, among others. Includes Edwin Starr’s signature song, the smash hit “War” (penned by Norman Whitfield & Barrett Strong), which reached #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1970. The song earned Starr a GRAMMY nomination in 1971 for Best R&B Male Vocal and was inducted into the GRAMMY Hall of Fame in 1999. lt also includes the Northern Soul classic “Time,” the one-step dancer “Running Back and Forth,” and a great cover of The 5th Dimension’s “California Soul.”


Side 1

1. WAR (N.Whitfield, B.Strong) 3:20
2. RUNNING BACK AND FORTH (E.Starr, R.Wylie) 2:46
3. ADIOS SEÑORITA (S.Moy, H.Crosby) 2:31
4. ALL AROUND THE WORLD (T.Turner) 3:10
5. I CAN’T ESCAPE YOUR MEMORY (I. Hunter, J.Goga) 2:59
6. AT LAST (I FOUND LOVE) (M.Gaye, A.Gaye, E.Stover) 2:48

Side 2

1. I JUST WANTED TO CRY (e.Starr, J.Bristol) 3:10
2. RAINDROPS KEEP FALLIN’ ON MY HEAD (B.Bacharach, H.David) 3:29
3. TIME (E.Starr, R.Wylie) 2:54
4. CALIFORNIA SOUL (N.Ashford, V.Simpson) 4:03
5. I CAN’T REPLACE MY OLD LOVE (H.Fuqua, A.Scott, V.Williams) 4:17
6. SHE SHOULD HAVE BEEN HOME (J.Bristol, D.McNeil) 3:07


Arrangers: Paul Riser, Henry Cosby, Wade Marcus, Willie Shorter & David Van de Pitte
Art Direction and Design: Curtis McNair
Photography: Hendin
Graphic supervision: Tom Schlesinger

Originally released in 1970 on Motown Records.
Manufactured by Anagram Music.