Chet Baker Quartet – Vol. 1 – Mini-LP Papersleeve CD Replica

Chet Baker Quartet – Vol. 1 – Mini-LP Papersleeve CD Replica

In 1955 Chet Baker undertook his first European tour, which resulted in various wonderful recordings – among them those included on the present album. However, it would also have serious consequences for Chet. According to Jack Chambers’ book Bouncing with Bartok: “Chet’s three young sidemen boarded the Ile de France in New York Harbour and arrived about a week later. It was the first time any of them had travelled outside North America. Twardzik was 24, Bond was 22, Littman only 20—and Baker, for all his honours, was just 25 and, at that moment in his life, looked younger. This European tour was the first for all four musicians and would be the last for three of them. Only Baker would ever return.

The two sessions with Twardzik were entirely devoted to the music of Bob Zieff, a young composer whose works had fascinated Baker. According to Chet: “The originality and freshness of Zieff’s line and chordal structure is going to please a lot of people, I think –at least musicians and other serious listeners.” Twardzik would die a few days after this recording was made from a heroin overdose. The pianist’s death would haunt Baker for the rest of his life, and would have a lot to do with the trumpeter’s own drug dependence.


01. RONDETTE (Bob Zieff) 2:13
02. PIECE CAPRICE (Bob Zieff) 5:14
03. MID-FORTE (Bob Zieff) 3:11
04. RE-SEARCH (Bob Zieff) 5:03
05. POMP (Bob Zieff) 4:44
06. SAD WALK (Bob Zieff) 4:17
07. JUST DUO (Bob Zieff) 4:15
08. THE GIRL FROM GREENLAND (Dick Twardzik) 5:18
09. BRASH (Bob Zieff) 5:54



Pathé-Magellan Studio, Paris, France, October 11 (tracks 1, 3, 4, 6 & 7) & October 14 (tracks 2, 5, 8 & 9), 1955.

Originally issued on Barclay 84009.