Bobby Hutcherson – Montara – Limited Edition 180 Gram LP

Bobby Hutcherson – Montara – Limited Edition 180 Gram LP

Recorded and released in 1975, Montara is one of the great feel-good jazz albums of the 70s and one of the great Latin jazz records of that decade. Featuring a stellar cast of musicians like Willie Bobo, Blue Mitchell, Bobby Matos, Ernie Watts, Harvey Mason, Plas Johnson, Fred Jackson, Larry Nash, and Chuck Domanico, among others, this album is a masterpiece of the genre and a perfect example of the very special sound of groove jazz that came out of fusion and Latin jazz’s tough salsa rhythms.



1. CAMEL RISE (George Cables) 5:33
2. MONTARA (Bobby Hutcherson) 4:57
3. (Se Acabó) LA MALANGA (Rudy Calzado) 4:17
4. LOVE SONG (George Cables) 5:35


1. LITTLE ANGEL (Eddy Martínez) 3:53
2. YUYO (Bobby Hutcherson) 6:40
3. OYE COMO VA (Tito Puente) 5:08

Bobby Hutcherson (vibes, marimba), with:
Oscar Brashear & Blue Mitchell (trumpet); Plas Johnson & Fred Jackson, Jr (flute); Ernie Watts & Fred Jackson, Jr. (tenor saxophone); Eddie Cano (piano); Larry Nash (electric piano); Dennis Budimir (guitar); Chuck Domanico & Dave Troncoso (bass); Harvey Mason (drums); Bobby Matos, Johnny Paloma, Victor Pantoja, Ralph MacDonald, Willie Bobo & Rudy Calzado (percussion). Arranged by Dale Oehler & Bobby Hutcherson. Produced by George Butler.

Produced by Dale Oehler
Executive Producer: George Butler
Master Engineer: John Golden